Senyuu- Season 1 complete review

Yet another short 4 minute comedy show (I must really like these), Senyuu is a fast moving tsukomi and boke Manzai dream. For those of you who do not know Manzai, it is a distinct Japanese Comedy style that utilizes 2 people and fast paced puns and retorts. The serious one, the tsukomi or straight man, plays a serious role that always retorts to the boke, or dumber character. I have personally done some manzai, and it’s a topic I’m very passionate about. I would love to get into more detail, so perhaps if there is an interest in it I will make a few post about how to do manzai.

Anywho… the show takes place in a fantasy style realm with the very classic Japanese tried and true trope of hero vs. demon king. And even more trope-y is the demon king not being evil but actually a female who is adorable. Well, I suppose a 2 minute show isn’t there for plot driven stories or even character development. It’s mostly about the antics.

And don’t get me wrong, this show has antics and then some. The dialogue is very¬† fast paced, so it’s kind of hard to pay attention to, but as long as you don’t mind missing a few jokes when they are talking over each other, you should be fine.

The art style is really cute and on the edge of the moe, if not already there. It’s got a very simplified art that matches the simplified story really well. I’m not going to lie, this show has made me exhale hard quite a few moments, but I’m not sure about outright laughter. The first season is a mere 13 episodes and at about 4 minutes a piece, one could easily finish the show in a single sitting. I know I did.

Overall I would score it as a 7 (good) and have plans to watch the second season, currently streaming on Crunchyroll.

Leave a Reply

